08:05:48 PM Saturday, 15 June 2024
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Skip to Main Content
  • Employee Login
  • A-
  • A
  • A+

Functions of the Research Council

The Research Council Shall:-
i. Advise on the formulation of R&D programmes and future directions of activities of the laboratory keeping in view the Five Year Plans, National priorities and opportunity areas.
ii. Suggest networking with other CSIR National Laboratories on programmes of mutual interest
iii. Review R&D activities and research programmes and advice on future directions
iv. Advise on fostering linkages between the laboratory, industry and potential clients
v. Constitute Selection Committees and assessment Committees/Peer Group for selection, merit and assessment promotions of Scientific staff and Technical Officers.
vi. Any other function as may be assigned by Director General/Governing Body.

The proceedings of the Research Council shall be approved by its Chairman. In the absence of Chairman of RC, one of its members who presides the meeting, as Chairman shall approves the Proceedings of the said meeting. The Director-General may amend any of the decisions of the Research Council which shall be binding.

Research Council Members (upto 31.08.2026)

Sl.no. Detail Designation
1 Dr. T Mohapatra
Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers‘ Rights Authority,
Govt. of India, Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
NASC Complex, DPS Marg, Opp – Todapur Village
New Delhi- 110 012
2 Prof. Ashwani Pareek
Executive Director
National Agri-Food Biotechnology Institute
Sector- 81 SAS Nagar,
Mohali – 140306
3 Dr. Amit Agrawal
Natural Remedies Pvt. Limited
Bengaluru – 560100
4 Dr. Rintu Banerjee
Agricultural and Food Engineering Indian Institute of Technology
Kharagpur- 721302
5 Dr. K.V. Prasad
ICAR-Directorate of Floriculture Research
College of Agriculture Campus, Shivajinagar
Pune – 411 036
6 Dr. Rashmi Sharma
Scientist – ‘F’
Science for Equity Empowerment and Development (SEED), Council for Science & Technology Communication (NCSTC) Division,
Department of Science & Technology
Ministry of Science & Technology
Technology Bhawan, New Mehrauli Road,
New Delhi – 110016
7 Dr. Zabeer Ahmed
CSIR-Indian Institute of Integrative Medicine
Canal Road
Jammu – 180 001
8 Dr. Ajit Kumar Shasany
CSIR-National Botanical Research Institute
Rana Pratap Marg
9 Dr. Vibha Malhotra Sawhney
Technology Management Directorate (TMD)
Vigyan Suchna Bhawan (CSIR-NIScPR Building) 14,
Satsang Vihar Marg
New Delhi – 110067
10 Dr. Pankaj K. Srivastava
Senior Principal Scientist
CSIR-National Botanical Research Institute
Rana Pratap Marg

Function of  Management Council

i. To administer and manage the affairs and environs of the laboratory.
ii. To write off irrecoverable monetary losses and Stores within the limits prescribed by CSIR.
iii. To recommend the resource allocation for R&D activities/facilities of the Lab./Institute.
iv. To monitor the progress of R&D and other activities of the Lab./Institute.
v. To recommend devolution of powers to the project leaders for the proper implementation of the projects/activities.
vi. To approve contract R&D, consultancy projects and licensing of IPR beyond powers of Director.
vii. To consider the annual report of the National Laboratory
viii. To constitute selection committees and assessment committees for all Technical and Support Staff.
ix. Any other matter, as may be referred by the Director-General

The proceedings of the Management Council shall be approved by its Chairman. The Governing Body or Director-General as its Principal Executive Officer may review /amend any of the decisions of the Management Council, and pass such orders as considered necessary, which shall be binding on the Management Council.

Management Council Members

CSIR-National Botanical Research Institute, Lucknow
(Approved by DG, CSIR for a period from 01.01.2024 to 31.12.2025)

Sl.no. Detail Designation
1 Dr. Ajit Kumar Shasany, Director, CSIR-NBRI, Lucknow Chairman
2 Dr. P.K. Trivedi, Director, CSIR-CIMAP, Lucknow Member
3 Dr. Sanjeeva Nayaka, Chief Scientist, CSIR-NBRI, Lucknow Member
4 Dr. Dr. Debasis Chakrabarty, Sr. Principal Scientist, CSIR-NBRI, Lucknow Member
5 Dr. K. J. Singh, Senior Scientist, CSIR-NBRI, Lucknow Member
6 Dr. Anju Patel, Scientist, CSIR-NBRI, Lucknow Member
7 Shri. Jai Chand, Sr. Technical Officer (1), CSIR-NBRI, Lucknow Member
8 Head RPBD/PME, CSIR-NBRI, Lucknow Member
9 CoFA/FAO, CSIR-NBRI, Lucknow Member
10 CoA / AO, CSIR-NBRI, Lucknow Member –