05:28:54 PM Thursday, 25 April 2024
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Skip to Main Content
  • Employee Login
  • A-
  • A
  • A+

Present position:
Dr Ajit Kumar Shasany, FNAAS, FNASc
Director, CSIR- National Botanical Research Institute, Lucknow 226001
Director, ICAR-National Institute for Plant Biotechnology, New Delhi-110012
Chief Scientist, Biotechnology Division, CSIR-Central Institute of Medicinal and Aromatic
Email: akshasany@gmail.com; director@nbri.res.in
 Total Publication: 146 (International: 104); Citations: 5437; h-index 38
 Cumulative Impact factor: More than 400
 Granted Patents: Total 101; US Patents: 51 (DNA sequences 3, Plants 23, 10 processes, 15
compositions). Indian: 16; Other countries: 34; Filed: 2
 Variety Development: 46.
 PhD Students Guided: 17 awarded; 4 Continuing; M.Sc. students guided: 62
 Involved in 30 Projects from which led 16 projects as Principal Investigator/Co-PI.
 Research interest includes, plant diversity, metabolic engineering in Medicinal and Aromatic
Plants and bioprospection for human health. Novel genes for phenylpropanoid, Terpenoid
pathways for Aroma. Plant Immunity for crop production
 Complete genome and transcriptome sequencing of “Holy basil” Ocimum sanctum: (First
medicinal plant Genome and first genome solely from India).
 Being a graduate in Agriculture, also engaged in dissemination of technology to farmers for
income enhancement and livelihood upliftment;
o Mint technology (Uttar Pradesh),
o Geranium technology in (Uttarakhand),
o Artemisia technology (Uttar Pradesh),
o Aromatic plant technology (Odisha) for rural economic upliftment and
 Leading in the development of 39 clusters of Aromatic Plants in 22 districts of Odisha
under “Aroma Mission”. Developing start-up Entrepreneurs.
Awards and Recognisations
 Fellow, National Academy of Sciences (india), Allahabad. From 2018
 Fellow, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi. From 2017
 Samanta Chandra Sekhara Award 2012, Odisha Bigyan Academy, Govt of Odisha
 CSIR Technology prize for Biological sciences and Technology (1999) for development of early
maturing disease and pest resistant menthol mint.
 CSIR-Technology Awards 2012 in Biological sciences, Development and commercialization of antimalarial
drug plant Artemisia annua technology package facilitating industrial growth, societal health and
rural prosperity.
 CSIR Technology Award 2018 (Certificate of Merit) in Biological sciences on Ocimum. Team Leader
 CSIR young scientist award in biological sciences (2000) for mint research.
 Prof. Umakant Sinha Memorial award (Indian Science Congress Association) 2003, for genome
analysis and IPR protection.
 Recognition for Indian Drug Manufacturers’ Association for Best Patent-2004-Member of the team
 Som award for developing high yielding Mentha arvensis, Kosi by Essential oil Association of India-
 Recognition for FICCI award 2005 for Rural Development to CSIR-CIMAP. Team Member
 Recognition for Nina Saxena Technology award by IIT Kharagpur, 2007. Team Member
 CIM-Fellow, 2007
 DBT Associateship and visiting scholar to Purdue University, USA 2007-2008
 Dr.Kumud Chandra Bora Memorial award for securing highest Overall Grade Point Average in M.Sc.
(Agcultural Biotechnology).
 Prof. Deveswar Pathak Memorial award for securing highest Overall Grade Point Average in M.Sc.
 IARI Merit medal for outstanding Academic performance during Ph.D Molecular Biology and
Biotechnology (1996).
 Member, Review Committee on Genetic Manipulation (RCGM), DBT
 Member, Board of Management of CSAUK, Kanpur
 Member, Board of Research, Siksha `O` Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar
 Member, Research Advisory Committee Siksha `O` Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar
 Member, Advisory Committee of Biotechnology at CSTUP, Lucknow
 Chairman, FAD-23 of ISI, New Delhi